Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s Latest Novel

Carlos Ruiz Zafon once again brings us back to The Cemetery of Forgotten Books and the Sempere & Sons bookshop in his latest novel “The Prisoner of Heaven”.  El Prisionero Del Cielo was published in Spain two days ago.  I’m really wishing my Spanish skills were a bit better right now since I’m pretty sure the few years I spent studying Spanish in high school won’t get me through this.  I do want to get a copy of The Shadow of the Wind and his other books in their original language at some point though.

The Prisoner of Heaven will be translated into English and available in the UK on July 21, 2012.  I’m not sure of the U.S. release date yet.

Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s official website states:

The Prisoner of Heaven returns to the world of The Cemetery of Forgotten Books and the Sempere & Sons bookshop. It begins one year after the close of The Shadow of the Wind when a mysterious stranger enters the shop, looking for a copy of The Count of Monte Cristo.”

This joins Zafon’s other books The Shadow of the Wind and The Angel’s Game which both revolve around the Sempere & Sons bookshop in Barcelona, Spain as well.  The Shadow of the Wind is my ultimate favorite book so I’m really excited to read the latest in this series.

9 comments on “Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s Latest Novel

  1. This is very exciting news indeed!

    • Michelle says:

      Yay, I’m glad someone else is equally excited! I can’t believe I just found out today. When I came across the news I was so ridiculously excited. Can’t wait!

  2. Baochi says:

    Michelle, thanks for the heads up! I’ll be on the lookout for the release of The Prisoner of Heaven. I LOVED Shadow of the Wind but was disappointed by the prequel, The Angel’s Game. Hopefully, The Prisoner of Heaven is great as a sequel…

  3. Emily C says:

    Thank you, thank you for the update. I am so excited for this!

    • Michelle says:

      You’re welcome! It’s good to see other people just as excited as me. I’ll definitely be posting again as it gets closer to the release date .. maybe I’ll even have some sort of countdown! Clearly I’m ridiculously over enthusiastic, but I love Shadow of the Wind.

  4. I share your appreciation for Shadow of the Wind. Carlos Ruiz Zafon inspired me with the way he could use words. I will look forward to reading his next novel. I’m sure I’ll have to break my no book buying fast for it.
    Enjoy always, T

    • Michelle says:

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂 I think it’d be worth it for a novel by him 😉 I can’t believe I still haven’t posted a review of Shadow of the Wind..sheesh, it’s only my favorite book. I plan on re-reading it (again) over the holiday, so maybe I’ll do that soon.

  5. pat says:

    if you have not read his earlier books, MIDNIGHT PALACE AND PRINCE OF MIST PLEASE DO SO. I WOULKE TO HAVE SEEN A MOVIE OF ONE OF THESE. RATHER THAN HUGO. PAT COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

