Reading Update: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

“I think and think and think, I’ve thought myself out of happiness one million times, but never once into it.”

I just started reading this book and already a quote has struck me.  This one really made me take notice, since I have a bad habit of thinking too much.  Whenever my boyfriend asks me what I’m doing and I say “thinking”, he automatically responds with “Uh oh.”

I over-analyze everything and I think of the worst possible outcomes over and over again.  Whenever I am in a bad mood to begin with this habit becomes extreme and really intensifies my negative state. 

Other initial thoughts:
I like it! The style is different.  The main character is a 9 year-old boy who comes across as exceptionally intelligent.  His way of analyzing things and perceiving the world is remarkable and yet, at the same time, he still has the naivety and confusion of a young child.  It is a very fresh and intriguing perspective, so I’m interested to see where this book goes.  I’ll post a full review once I’m finished.

Sorry for the somewhat short and unpolished post.  I have a terrible migraine and was working on a different post for today, but it took too long and I feel like death so I’m saving it for tomorrow, along with a review of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Edit: You now can find my review of this book HERE.

7 comments on “Reading Update: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

  1. Adam says:

    That is an absolutely wonderful quote. I wonder if when authors write something like that if they have a moment where they just this “this is absolutely brilliant” or if they’re so lost in the work that they don’t have time to stop and think about what they just wrote.

    For my 30 day book countdown my topic for today was my favorite quote from a book. The one that I picked was from book 6 of The Wheel of Time where Sorilea says to Egwene “We are always more afraid than we wish to be, but we can always be braver than we expect.”

    The quote I picked today and that one that you posted both ring very true to me and even though they’re completely out of the context of the story they were told in, they’re both very applicable to everyone in daily life.

    • Michelle says:

      That’s a really great and encouraging quote, thanks for sharing 🙂 I really have to read The Wheel of Time series! You keep mentioning it and sparking my interest. Some day..

      • Adam says:

        It’s a great series, but get ready for the long haul if you start reading it, 14 books (the last one is due out next year, there’s also a prequel novel) and all of them are fairly large.

  2. Amanda Rene says:

    I like the quote! I’m a horrible over-thinker as well, especially if I’m tired, hormonal, or emotional. And it never does lead into happiness.

    I hope your migraine is better!

    • Michelle says:

      That’s why I like reading, it gives me something else to focus on so I don’t over-think. And thanks, I’m feeling a bit better. I’m just very tired still, so I’ve been getting migraines more frequently. Back to school tonight though so I’ll be sleeping better soon 🙂

      Thanks for checking out my post!

  3. Bryonie Carolan says:

    It’s a great book and you’re definitely true about how different the perspective makes the book. He’s a very cool and clever boy and yet still so naive and innocent. It’s a great take on the world according to a 9 year old. I’m looking forward to the film.

    • Michelle says:

      I’m about half-way through now and loving it 🙂 Hoping to finish it this weekend. I”m looking forward to the film too, but I’m not sure how they’ll be able to replicate the amazing perspective that the book provides. We’ll see. Hopefully it’ll live up to the book!

      Thanks for stopping by my blog =)

Leave a Reply

