For Literature Lovers: Books About Books

Anyone who reads my blog knows that I’m a bit obsessed with Carlos Ruiz Zafón. His book The Shadow of the Wind is my all-time favorite and it was the first book that impacted me so greatly. I recently reviewed his newest book, The Prisoner of Heaven, which certainly lived up to the expectations.

Besides being an amazing storyteller, Zafón’s books are unique because they express the immense passion a reader can have for literature. Most notably, his Cemetery of Forgotten Books, which appears in three of his books now, features an old hidden library containing forgotten books. When a reader takes a book from the library, they are forever entrusted with its care.

Zafón clearly loves literature and knows what makes a good book. When I was researching him a few days ago, I stumbled across a Goodreads article in which Carlos Ruiz Zafón listed his own favorite “books about books.” Of course, his own books The Shadow of the Wind, The Angel’s Game, and The Prisoner of Heaven should top the list.

Here is Zafón’s list:

1. The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
2. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende
3. The Club Dumas by Arturo Pérez-Reverte
4. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
5. On Writing by Stephen King
6. Atonement by Ian McEwen

I’ve actually been in the process of reading Atonement lately, and will hopefully finish soon once classes and moving are over. Fahrenheit 451 has been on my TBR list for a while too. I’ll have to take a look at the other books Zafón suggests.

Zafón’s own books top my list of favorite “books about books”, but here are a few others I came up with:

1. The History of Love – Nicole Krauss : I read this book a few months ago and LOVED it, but never got around to posting a review. I’ve been wanting to reread it anyway, so next time I’ll actually post about it ;) Also, how cool is it that she’s married to Jonathan Safran Foer? Such a talented couple!

2. The Book Thief - Markus Zusak

Here is the Goodreads article that I took Zafón’s list from.

I also found this article that lists Zafón’s top ten 20th century gothic novels, similar to his own works.

Any other great “books about books” that you would like to add to the list?

2 comments on “For Literature Lovers: Books About Books

  1. It’s funny that you posted this, because I discovered The Shadow of the Wind from a “books about books” list on Goodreads. I’ve read Fahrenheit 451 and The Book Thief and while I liked them, The Shadow of the Wind is my favorite book about books :)

    Also, thanks for the article about Zafon’s top ten 20th cent. gothic novels; I’ll have to check out this list after I read all the classic gothic lit. in my Kindle :D

    • Michelle says:

      You’re welcome! I’m glad you enjoyed the post and lists :) I felt like I had struck gold when I found them. I definitely want to take a closer look at the gothic novels list. I don’t think I knew anything about any books on that list, so maybe some great new finds for me! Thanks for stopping by to comment.

Leave a Reply

